Division Il – Horticulture

“Green is Always Beautiful”

 Horticulture entries consultant – Kayetta Meadows
(Exhibitors must furnish clear containers. Appropriate size for specimen).


Rules and Regulations for Division ll

  1. Cut specimens should not have foliage below the water line.
  2. Wedging is allowed and will be furnished by the exhibitor.
  3. All specimens must not exceed 30” in total length unless otherwise stated.
  4. The exhibitor must have grown all horticulture specimens for at least 90 days. Plant material must be fresh.
  5. All horticulture specimens must be correctly named by genus, species, and/or variety.  Unnamed specimens  are not eligible for top awards.
  6. Exhibitors may enter more than one specimen per class if it is a different genus, species, variety, type, size or color.
  7. The classification chairperson may subdivide any horticulture lot according to variety or color, not to exceed eight sub lots per class.
  8. All horticulture entries must be entered on Thursday, September 14, 2017 from 2:00pm – 6:00pm. Horticulture will not be accepted after 6:00pm.
  9. Specimens may not be picked up before 4:30pm on September 16, 2017. Specimens will be discarded after 5pm.
  10. Entry cards may be obtained from Sally Handley  (864 373-9069) or Vaughn’s Country Store and filled out in advance. Card should be typed or written with a waterproof pen or pencil.
  11. The NGC standard system of awards will be used for all competitive judging.

       Scale of Points for Horticulture

      Conformance                                                   5 points
      Plant Identification (correct & complete)                     5 points
      Peak of Perfection                                           75 points
        Maturity/size:  20 points    Form:  20 points              
        Conditioning:  15 point      Color:  20 points
      Grooming/Staging                                           15 Points
      Grooming:   10 points   Staging:  5 points
        Total                                                         100 Points

In order to receive a NGC top award, a specimen must be a Blue Ribbon winner and have scored at least 95 points.

Division II – Horticulture Sections

Section A – Roses        “”Always Beautiful”
Eligible for Award of Merit

 Class 1 Hybrid Tea or Grandiflora   (maximum length 24”)

Class 2 Floribunda

Class 3 Climber

Class 4 Miniatures – 1 spray

Class 5 Any other not listed

Section B – Annuals       “Just for Now”

Eligible for Award of Merit

One bloom, spike or leaf (If only genus name is given, please give species name and cultivar or variety)

 Class   6        Ageratum houstonianum ( Flossflower)

 Class   7         Aster

Class   8          Begonia

Class   9         Calendula officinalis  (marigold)         a .large   b. small

Class 10         Celosia cristata (cockscomb)

Class 11         Cleome hassleriana (spider flower)

Class 12        Celosia plumose (plumed)

Class 13        Cosmos

Class 14        Gaillardia (blanket flower)

Class 15        Helianthus (sunflower))

Class 16        Melampodium leucanthum (black foot daisy)

Class 17        Pelargonium  (geranium)

Class 18         Salvia     a. red      b. blue

Class 19        Vinca Rosea   a. white   b. pink   c. other color)

Class 20        Walleriana (impatiens)

Class 21        Zinnias    a. large     b.  small

Class 22       Any other unlisted annual 

 Section C – Perennials      “ Always Returning”
Eligible for Award of Merit

One stem, bloom unless otherwise indicated

 Class 23     Achillea millefolium (yarrow)

Class 24     Dianthus

Class 25     Echinacea purpurea (cone flower)

Class 26     Gerbera Jamesonii (1 bloom)      a. red   b. pink   c. yellow   d. any other color

Class 27      Lantana

Class 28      Lobelia cardinalis (cardinal flower)

Class 29      Rudbeckia (black eyed susan)

Class 30      Sedum     a. autumn joy   b. variegated   c. any other

Class 31      Verbena    a. red   b. pink   c. purple

Class 32     Veronica (speedwell)

Class 33      any other unlisted perennial

Section D – Bulbs, Rhizomes and Tubers  “A Little Different”
Eligible for Award of Merit

 Class 34       Alocasis (elephant ear) one leaf

Class 35       Canna x generalis (canna lily) one stem    a. red   b. any color   c. dwarf, any color

Class 36       Dahlia, large (8”dia.) – one bloom, any color

Class 37       Dahlia, medium (4-8” dia) – one bloom

Class 38       Dahlia, miniatures (under 4” dia) – three blooms

Class 39        Dahlia, miniature ball (2-4” dia) – three blooms

Class 40        Dahlia, pompoms (under 2” dia) – three blooms, any color

Class 41        Hedychium (ginger lily)

Class 42        Lycoris radiate (spider lily)

Class 43        Tricyrtis (toad lily)

Class 44        Any other unlisted bulb, rhizomes and tubers

 Section E – Plants Grown for “Beauty of Foliage”

 Eligible for Award of Merit

One 6-18” stem unless otherwise indicated with or without blooms, no roots

 Class 45       Aspidistra    a. green   b. variegated

Class 46       Caladium – any color

Class 47       Coleus – any color

Class 48       Cycas revolute – sago palm

Class 49       Fatsia japonica

Class 50       Fern

                       a. adiantum species (maiden hair)

                       b. Cyrtomium falcatum (holly fern)

                       c. Davallia species (deer foot, rabbit foot)

                       d. Nephrolepis exaltata (Boston, sword)

Class 51       Hosta   a. green   b. yellow   c. variegated

Class 52       Liriope

Class 53       Pachysandra

Class 54       Sansevieria (mother in-law tongue

Class 55       Senecio Cineraria (dusty miller)

Class 56       Stachys Bysantina (lamb’s ear)

Class 57       Any other foliage plant not listed

 Section F – Shrubs and Trees        “Just  Right”
Eligible for Arboreal Award

One 18-30” stem unless otherwise indicated with or without bloom must have several nodes.

 Class 58       Abelia

Class 59      Brugmansia (angel trumpet)

Class 60      Buddleia (butterfly bush)

Class 61      Callicarpa Americana (beauty berry)

Class 62      Cotoneaster pannosa

Class 63      Elaeagnus

Class 64      Euonymous (burning bush)

Class 65      Fatshedera Lizei (tree ivy)

Class 66      Hydrangea   a. green   b. variegated

Class 67      Ilex (holly)    a. green   b. variegated

Class 68      Lagostremia (crape myrtle)

Class 69      Nandina

Class 70      Osmanthus (tea olive)

Class 71      Sasanquq (camellia) one spray blooming  

Class 72      Any other unlisted shrub

Class 73      Any other unlisted Trees

Class 74      Any other berried or flowered or fruit shrub

Class 75      Any other berried or flowered or fruit Trees  

 Section G Containers        “Perfectly Placed”
Eligible for Arborial Award

Container must be greater than 4” but not to exceed 14” in diameter.

 Class 76        Clerodendrum

Class 77        Saintpaulia (African Violet, double crown, double bloom)

Class 78        Begonia (single bloom, any color)

Class 79        Davallia species (Rabbit foot, Deer foot, etc.)

Class 80        Nephrolipia (Boston fern)

Class 81        Adiantum species (maidenhair fern)

Class 82        Orchidaceae (orchid, any color, any variety)

Class 83       Sansevieria (snake plant)

Class 84       Any fruited plant

Class 85       Any other green foliage plant not listed (mixed  greenery)

Class 86       Any other variegated foliage plant not listed

Class 87       Any other type plant not listed

Section H. Vines and Ivy       ”Wandering Around”
Each variety constitutes a sub-classTotal length must not exceed 30”

Class 88       Foliage

Class 89       Flowering

Class 90       Berried